Thread: Watts vs. Amps

Watts vs. Amps

Watts vs. Amps

I have seen many times that some speakers do not need Watts as much as they need Amps. This confuses me each time I read it. When I studied electricity in high school & college we were told that Watts equal Amps times Volts: (W = A x V), And since the Volts are staying the same shouldn't an increase in Watts cause a proportional increase in Amps and vice versa?
    Am I being too simple with my thinking? There must be something I'm missing right?
    Please let me know what I am not seeing. Oh, and please use small words and talk/type slowly for me.

Tanx.
    WARNING! - The Surgeon General has determined that, time spent listening to music is not deducted from one's lifespan.

Anyone?
    WARNING! - The Surgeon General has determined that, time spent listening to music is not deducted from one's lifespan.

Department of Heuristics and Research on Material Applications
    Hi GM,
    I'll try to keep this simple (mostly because it's the only way I can understand it).

Voltage doesn't really stay constant. The voltage waveform is amplified at the input stage of an amplifier ("Voltage gain") by a fixed multiple...then the amp supplies the appropriate current to drive that voltage into the load (speaker).

Let's say you have an amp with a gain of 10, into a load of 8 ohms (your speaker, which isn't really an 8 ohm resistive device, but work with me here). You get 10 volts at the output for evey 1 volt at the input.

voltage/resistance = amps . Ohm's law states:
    10/8 = 1.25 amps.

Power = volts x current so in this case it's 10 x 1.25 = 12.5 watts. (which is actually quite a bit).

It's not really the increase in watts that leads to the increase in amps, but rather an increase in amps causing an increase in watts.