Forum Regular

Question Are NAD amps any good?

I posted a message earlier about the yamaha receiver. I'm going to try swapping the left and right channels in the pre-out main in, and that'll determine if it's the amp or the pre-amp (I think). So if it's in the amp, the actual left speaker would still sound weak, but if it's the pre-amp, the right speaker would sound weak.

If it's the amp, are NAD amps any good? What do you think of the C272? I want a good overall sound. Something that'll be better than the Yamaha's amps, drive my current Polk speakers well, but be very well matched for the Definitive Tech speakers I'll eventually get. I'm new to separates, but I like the versatility and the improved sound quality. Is there any particular amp you recommend (2 channel at least 100wpc under $1000)?

Also, if the pre-amp is bad, but the amp in the Yamaha RX-V2095, what do you guys recommend? I'm pretty lost if that'd be the case.

I appreciate the help.
    Thanks!

RGA
    Forum Regular
    It is difficult to say how a particular speaker will do with a particular power amp - sometimes there can be a startling improvement and other times almost none or just plain no difference. Get them to give you the amp over a weekend to let you try it out.

Power amplifiers are the strength of NAD and the C272 I believe has been popular for many years. Power supplies in receivers are so bad that I would bet you would notice a good improvement - but speakers have a say here --- and i can't be sure - so best is to try out the stores demo model and if you like it buy it if not return it.

Forum Regular