Forum Regular

tube amp questions

I want to build a 2 channel system. I have limited knowledge but I know that I want tube equipment. Tube amps seem to be either single ended or push pull ( is that right? ).
    I keep reading about the amazing qualities of SET but that it limits speaker choice considerably. For a beginner which would you suggest, single ended or push pull? Speaker preferences at this point seem to be either Klipsch LaScalla II or Tannoy Turnberry HE, but I have yet to decide and I'm open to suggestions. I listen to a bit of everything except classical but as I get older its more Chet Atkins and less Led Zepplin. My room is about 450 sq ft but it is broken up into alcoves that will provide smaller listening areas. My budget for the entire system is around 12K.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by dirtbag
    I want to build a 2 channel system. I have limited knowledge but I know that I want tube equipment. Tube amps seem to be either single ended or push pull ( is that right? ).
    I keep reading about the amazing qualities of SET but that it limits speaker choice considerably. For a beginner which would you suggest, single ended or push pull? Speaker preferences at this point seem to be either Klipsch LaScalla II or Tannoy Turnberry HE, but I have yet to decide and I'm open to suggestions. I listen to a bit of everything except classical but as I get older its more Chet Atkins and less Led Zepplin. My room is about 450 sq ft but it is broken up into alcoves that will provide smaller listening areas. My budget for the entire system is around 12K.

Thanks
    SET (single ended triode) is not an exclusively tube thing. There are single ended solid state amplifiers. Pas Labs has several single ended solid state amps. Classic SET's are restricted with speaker choice because they don't have very much power (10 or 12 Watts max).