• 01-30-2007, 05:41 PM
    VE4CAN
    Is This Statement Correct?????
    I copied and pasted this from another site and I'm no expert..

QUOTE:
    All cheap amplifiers use feedback, and there are no amplifiers above 30 -40 Watts without feedback. This is a very important point. There is no solid state amplifier that can be designed totally without feedback.

Are they correct??????????
  • 01-30-2007, 09:45 PM
    Dusty Chalk
    No, I'm pretty sure the Pass Labs amplifiers have no feedback.

The 30-40 watts part may be correct. When one doesn't use feedback, one has to run basically a lot of modules in parallel to get more power and lower output impedance.
  • 01-31-2007, 05:52 AM
    Feanor
    Different ways of implementing feedback
    Quote:

Originally Posted by VE4CAN

QUOTE:
    All cheap amplifiers use feedback, and there are no amplifiers above 30 -40 Watts without feedback. This is a very important point. There is no solid state amplifier that can be designed totally without feedback.

I'm no expert either, and if anyone wants to correct me, I wish they would.

Feedback can be implemented in different ways, some supposedly worse than others. For example there are many S/S amplifiers with "zero global feedback", for example, my current Monarchy amps or my previous Bel Canto amp. As you may know, most amps, (including power amps), are implemented with 2, 3, or sometimes more stages of amplification; as I understand it, early stages supply mostly voltage gain while latter stages supply the current. "Global" feedback spans multiple stages of gain and is considered the kind most to be avoided. "Local" feedback is considered more inoccuous; it affects only a single stage. Then too there can be more or less feedback applied, whether to a single stage of multiple stages.