nightflier

Question about analog controls

(This may have been covered in another thread, if so, please include a link)

If manufacturers have such a hard time creating silent analog controls for volume, balance, etc., wouldn't a digital control be more quiet, precise, durable and efficient? I'm thinking of the Conrad Johnson SC-26 for example. Now it isn't one of their highest rated models, but I would think it would be pretty good.

And if it's just an interface issue where owners "prefer" analog dials, couldn't manufacturers just create an analog dial on the front of the component but with a digital interface inside the unit?

I'm not an electrical engineer, so I don't know all the technical details about this, but I was just wondering.

Sure, often

Quote Originally Posted by nightflier
    And if it's just an interface issue where owners "prefer" analog dials, couldn't manufacturers just create an analog dial on the front of the component but with a digital interface inside the unit?

I'm not an electrical engineer, so I don't know all the technical details about this, but I was just wondering.
    For example the volume knob on my Sonic Frontiers LINE 1 which is, in fact, a digital control with with an analog dial just like you suggest ...

My former Adcom GFP-750 had a selector knob that was also actually digital
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Question about analog controls-digital_selector.jpg  

nightflier
    Exactly.

So why don't more manufacturers do this?

Can't answer that

Exactly.

So why don't more manufacturers do this?
    But are you off an age to remember the slider fad of the mid-80's? Horizontal or vertical sliders replaced knobs on a lot of stuff for volume, balance, tone controls, etc. That was brutal. Worse than buttons, IMO. Mostly it was low to mid-range consumer stuff, fortunately.