Thread: Rotel RB-1050

Forum Regular

Rotel RB-1050

I'm new to the home audio world appart from what's available at your local big box store, but I know what sounds good and it's 2 channel audio for me. I recently bought a set of B&W 601's to start with and am currently pairing them to an older technics SU-V8X amp and slightly more modern SL-PD888 5 disc changer. This has worked for me till now, but it's time to make the switch to a dedicated 2 channel amp.

I was looking at the Rotel RB-1050, actually reviews of it and it seems like it'd be a good choice. I'd EVENTUALLY be pairing it to a Rega Apollo source as my current technics is well, junk. How would this system perform. I listened to the speakers on all Rega components at the store and they sounded amazing.

Also, whats up with pre-amps, tube amps and all this other stuff? Hurts my brain now, but is it something I should seriously consider now, or is it something I can add on later for better performance?

well, if you want the rotel, you must have a preamp, you can't run it from the rega, the rotel is a power amp, which means that all you can do is press the power button. You do want to do this, cd player (and other sources) to preamp/processor to power amp,
    if i'm not mistaking, the technics is an integrated amp, which means that it is a preamp and a power amp in one, when you buy the rotel rb 1050 you will need a preamp because the rotel is only a power amp.

you can also get a new integrated amp (like you have now, but newer and better) or when the technics haves pre-outs, you can connect the rotel to the technics and use the technics as preamp and then save for a better preamp.

hope this helped,
    Basite
    Life is music!

Mcintosh MA6400 Integrated
    Double Advent speakers
    Thiel CS2.3's
    *DIY Lenco L75 TT
    * SME 3012 S2
    * Rega RB-301
    *Denon DL-103 in midas body
    *Denon DL-304
    *Graham slee elevator EXP & revelation
    *Lehmann audio black cube SE
    Marantz CD5001 OSE