Forum Regular

Receiver/Integrated amp suggestions? Newbie here

I have the Focal 706V speakers on order. The specs for the speakers can be found here: http://www.focal-fr.com/accueil_en.htm

Here is where the speakers will be placed and this is what my apt. looks like:

I will not be listening to really loud music, don't want to bug the neighbors. I am hoping to find a used receiver/integrated amplifier, so if you can recommend products from mainstream companies I feel like I'd have better luck finding something used; however, I am open to suggestions.

Ideally I want a two channel receiver with a sub out. I will never be upgrading to a full HT setup.

I have been looking at the Yamaha RX 797, I can get this for a price in my budget. Is this a good receiver?

I have been looking at this list: http://hometheater.about.com/cs/topp...p2channela.htm

Any guidance would be much appreciated. Thanks,

Ryan

Hi Ryan,

I wouldnt plae my system the way you have it planned. I dont exactly know how your room is layed out, so cannot really comment. But based on on what I see from your duiagram, I would turn it 90 degrees to either right or left.

What is the highest amount you think you can spend? http://cls.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls....ran&1172453589

Good luck and welcome,

JRA

test the blind blindly emorphien's Avatar
    As far as receiver vs. integrated amp, will you be needing something with digital inputs? Do you need a built in radio tuner? Is there any kind of wall behind the speakers? They are front ported so that's less of an issue, but even still I'd prefer to have them backed up near a wall.

focal eh? nad goes well with focal, so does rotel, check them out too.
    Life is music!

Mcintosh MA6400 Integrated
    Double Advent speakers
    Thiel CS2.3's
    *DIY Lenco L75 TT
    * SME 3012 S2
    * Rega RB-301
    *Denon DL-103 in midas body
    *Denon DL-304
    *Graham slee elevator EXP & revelation
    *Lehmann audio black cube SE
    Marantz CD5001 OSE