AR Newbie Registered Member

what is the difference between a phono pre amp and a normal amp?

can some one please help me as i am a hi-fi novice i have noticed that pre amps are not full size but phono pre amps look just look normal amps. please can someone explain the difference and can you use a pre amp instead of an amp?
    Last edited by vibralux; 12-26-2004 at 02:59 AM.

sylmar, ca. in beautiful so cal earthquake country

not sure what you mean

but some phono preamps are large, not many. an audio research will be because theres a lot of stuff in there or space or isolation from intrernal transformers etc.

mostly amplifiers are large to start with for some of the same reasons.
    ...regards...tr

Quote Originally Posted by vibralux
    can some one please help me as i am a hi-fi novice i have noticed that pre amps are not full size but phono pre amps look just look normal amps. please can someone explain the difference and can you use a pre amp instead of an amp?