Unhappy OH NO! Hum & static from my ancient Phase Linear 400

After many years of stoney silence my Phase Linear 400 is sending 60 cycle hum plus some static to my speakers; also, hum is audible around the unit itself.

Why? What to do? It's already back to the technician, but I probably won't hear for a few days. BTW, I say "back" because I recently had him upgrade the input capacitors from 5900 to 22,000 uFd -- could there be a connection?

I don't think the capacitor upgrade made any significant improvement, i.e. a waste of a fair bit of money. Should I throw good money after bad or get a new amp? Unfortunately my cashflow is constrained these days: if any new amp, has anyone got suggestions under US$1000? I would consider either an intergrated or power only; (my Apt Holman preamp, 25 years old, is doing well though it has no remote control). I have Magneplanar MMGs so need an amp the can deliver 80+ watts into 4 ohms.

I'm not a techie but

have you recently moved to a new residence or moved the system to a new location in the same residence? If so, this might be the culprit.

Nope. No changes to my setup

Quote Originally Posted by poneal
    have you recently moved to a new residence or moved the system to a new location in the same residence? If so, this might be the culprit.
    Nothing at all has changed since all was well.

Forum Regular