Forum Regular

(Pre) AMP for 'vintage' speakers?

I am far from a full blown audiophile but enjoy listening to good quality music. I buy most of my equipment second hand (from the goodwill mostly). So far I've accumulated a set of Infinity qe, Polk monitor 7 and a newer sony 5.1 receiver/tower speaker set(I can't remember the models off the top of my head).

I've plugged in the speakers to the sony and they work and sound fine but from what I've read, the older tweeters are fragile (EMITs and Silver dome coil). The last thing I want to do is blow them out and have to fork out cash to get them functional (I'm a student--I've not spent more than 30 on any item). Is it safe to keep running them off the sony reciever? I've also got a pioneer sa-950 at my parents place that is collcting dust. Would that be a better bet? My only issue is that the pioneer lacks channels for surround--willing to sacrifice for quality.

If neither of these are good, I'd really appreciate some brands/models to keep an eye out for. I don't really have the money to buy a whole lot but I don't want to miss out on something.

Thanks

I put the Gee in Gear.... thekid's Avatar
    MZ

Welcome to AR!
    With alot of "vintage" speakers you do have to be careful about the power you put into them because some were built in a time where something like a 65wpc or greater amp was pretty rare. The Polk 7's came out in an era were wpc was getting a bit higher and according to Polk could be run in the 20-150 wpc range so I think you should be fine. I run my Polk 10's with a 100wpc channel Kenwood Basic and have no problem though I admttedly run them at low to moderate volumes.