• 03-27-2006, 07:25 PM
    agidol
    NewB asking Separate Amp vs. Receiver
    Hi, I'm an audio novice who has this current set up. Yammy Rxv730 AV receiver (75W pc) plus Paradigm studio 80 and studio 20 as my surround set up. My audiophile friend tells me that I'm underdriving my speakers with my receiver and recommends a separate amplifier. He thinks the current receiver brings out only 50% of what my speakers (6 ohm) are capable of playing. I'm no audiophile and don't have much to spend (maybe $500) but if a decent "used" amplifier can bring my speaker sound to another level I am willing to drop some dough.. So will $500 budget amp bring that much of an improvement over my receiver -- that is...an improvemnt that even a novice can hear? Also, if so what amps "used" under $500 do you recommend? Thanks in advance.
  • 03-28-2006, 06:09 AM
    Feanor
    Just my opinion
    Quote:

Originally Posted by agidol
    Hi, I'm an audio novice who has this current set up. Yammy Rxv730 AV receiver (75W pc) plus Paradigm studio 80 and studio 20 as my surround set up. ... He thinks the current receiver brings out only 50% of what my speakers (6 ohm) are capable of playing. I'm no audiophile and don't have much to spend (maybe $500)...

The Paradigms are reasonably efficient speaker and don't require huge power unless played very loud; 75 wt/ch will be adequate from most people in most listening rooms.

But there are differences in the sound of amplifiers that aren't related to just power. Unfortunately, IMO, if you expect improvement in sound in the order of "50%", which is "huge", you are going to have to go beyond "entry level" equipment and that means looking at amps in the range of $1200+ new. You might able to get something used for as little as $500. Something like an Odessy Stratos maybe??? Unfortunately I haven't looked at the used market recently.
  • 03-28-2006, 06:40 AM
    kexodusc
    To add on to Feanor's good comments
    Quote:

Originally Posted by Feanor