Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Super Moderator Site Moderator JohnMichael's Avatar

New Int. Amp needed!

I have enjoyed the Cambridge Audio A640 int. amp but it is now time for an upgrade. I still want to stay with an int. amp and have been thinking about the Creek Destiny. I like the idea of an int. amp with a passive preamp and power amp. I have also looked at the Portal int. amp which again is a passive preamp with power amp. Any other suggestions.

I plan on upgrading speakers to NHT's Classic Three. I listened to these at an audio store in Minneapolis and I was very impressed.

In a spasm of curiousity and boredom I ordered the Onkyo A 9555 because of all the buzz I had been reading about it. I have never used a class D amp before. I am going to compare it to the CA and whichever I like the most I will keep and sell the other. I like to keep a spare amp, cd player and speakers around so the winner will be a backup for the Creek or which ever one I choose. I had to send the old Rotel in for service one time and hated being without music. That will never happen again.
    JohnMichael
    Vinyl Rega Planar 2, Incognito rewire, Deepgroove subplatter, ceramic bearing, Michell Technoweight, Rega 24V motor, TTPSU, FunkFirm Achroplat platter, Michael Lim top and bottom braces, 2 Rega feet and one RDC cones. Grado Sonata, Moon 110 LP phono.
    Digital
    Sony SCD-XA5400ES SACD/cd SID mat, Marantz SA 8001
    Int. Amp Krell S-300i
    Speaker
    Monitor Audio RS6
    Cables
    AQ SPKR and AQ XLR and IC

Suspended
    I haven't heard one but take a look at the PS Audio amps that use the Gain Cell Technology. It's basically a power amp that is able to function like a integrated. And, please do give us report on the 9555, this is one that really has me curious as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Peabody