nightflier

Class-D Amps for Maggies

I know this has been discussed a bit already, but I wanted to see what others have experienced with pairing Class-D amps with Maggies. I'm a bit new to the Magnepan camp, but I've had many different class-D amps and have had very positive results driving box speakers. I'm driving MG12s in the front, MMG-C center, and MMG-W rears.

Recently, I replaced a solid state Outlaw 7125 seven-channel amp with a Class-D Rotel RMB-1077 amp in my system and had to give up some performance for energy efficiency. I'm also new to Rotel, but that little 17lb 1U amp uses a whopping 50% less energy at comparable volume than the Outlaw. The performance, however, is less stellar with the Rotel amp sounding thin and lacking body. Now the Rotel is a 200w amp into 4 ohms and does not have a rating for 2 ohms, although the manufacturer seems confident in the amp's abilities into more resistive loads.

In comparison, more powerful amps from PS Audio and Spectron don't seem to have this problem, but I'm left wondering if this is because they have more power or because they have better technology? Several online forums state that the Rotel Class-D amps are not a good match for Maggies, but they fail to explain why. If the Rotel is stable into 2 ohms, then it would theoretically have nearly 400w on tap for it, certainly enough to drive Maggies. What has been the experience of others out there?

Quote Originally Posted by nightflier
    I know this has been discussed a bit already, but I wanted to see what others have experienced with pairing Class-D amps with Maggies. I'm a bit new to the Magnepan camp, but I've had many different class-D amps and have had very positive results driving box speakers. I'm driving MG12s in the front, MMG-C center, and MMG-W rears.

Yes, I've used a Class D with Maggies.