an Absolute Beginner Jurgenvanes's Avatar

Question Damping Factor???

Hi,

Please help me!

What does the Damping Factor of an amp mean? I use a NAD C370 and NAD C270 in a bi-amp configuration and B&W CM4 speakers. I’ve been told that B&W speakers need amps with a high Damping Factor, Why? What is this? The NAD’s have a Damping Factor of ±150 I think, and wonder what this does to the sound. I’ve seen amp specifications where the Damping Factor goes over a thousand!!!

Cheers

Forum Regular