• 05-27-2005, 11:51 AM
    minye
    My very first seperate and virgin ears.
    I am new in audiophile. I have a set of Klipsch speakers. The main the KSF 10.5 towers and a 12 inch powered sub. I have a Denon reciever with 60wpc. I've been watching 5.1 movies and pretty satisified with the system. But I also like listening to music: Eagles,Kenny G, Diana Krall, classic rock, James Taylor...I know it 's much better to use seperates to listen to music. So I got my very first seperate, a pair of old schools, Rotel RC870 Preamp and RB870 AMP 60 wpc. I got them cheap 'cause the budget is tight for me to spend on these things.

I hooked them up with the Klipsch towers. ( I use a Pioneer Elite DV37 to play CDs ). For the first time the sound from the seperate system reached my ears... I heard the difference. I feel more power than the receiver though they are both rated 60 wpc. The sound is more solid for that. And I can feel something more. But I am not sure if that is the warm or sweet I should be expecting from a seperate syetem. Can someone tell me what I should be expecting from these old Rotels? And I know my Klipsch speakers are very sensitive and efficient. Maybe they are not very good for music listening or not easy to get typical results..

Another issue I met is I found that when I use the seperates, I lost the powerful bass that receiver and powered sub can give. What shall I do about it? Thanks
  • 05-27-2005, 01:27 PM
    Bass
    Quote:

Originally Posted by minye
    ...Another issue I met is I found that when I use the seperates, I lost the powerful bass that receiver and powered sub can give. What shall I do about it? Thanks