AR Newbie Registered Member

What amp for Epos M12.2s (8Ohm) monitors?

I'm joyfully assembling my first quality stereo system. Please excuse "newbie" question.

I had decided to get the Epos M5 speakers and possibly match them up with a Cambridge Audio 640A or 540A amp, based on great reviews for that combination.

But, I found and bought a pair of Epos M12.2s at a great price that I couldn't resist. Figured that the speaker which retails for $895 can only be better than the speaker which retails for $650.

The M12.2s specs (below) are different than those of the M5s, which are a '4Ohm' speaker.

Power Handling 120 Watt Max
    Frequency Response 58 Hz - 20 kHz
    Impedance 8 Ohm nominal
    Sensitivity 87dB/1W/1m
    Amplifier Compatibility 50 - 150 Watt
    (also listed as 25-150 Watts on the epos website)

So, would a CA 640A or 540A amp match up well with the 12.2s as well?
    What alternatives may be better? As I said, I am new to this.

The 640A specs are:
    Power Output: 65 watts into 8ohms
    100 watts into 4ohms
    Input Impedance: 47k ohms
    Loudspeaker Impedance: 4ohms to 8ohms

The 540A specs are:
    Power Output: 50 watts into 8ohms
    80 watts into 4ohms
    Input Impedance: 47k ohms
    Loudspeaker Impedance: 4ohms to 8ohms

Budget in the $400-600 range, new or used. Simple is good. Don't necessarily need a remote. Ah, and it needs to have a phono stage. I picked up a Music Hall MMF-5 turntable, have a nice old analog NAD tuner, and will add some sort of CD player.

My listening preference is for detail, clarity, the elusive "warmth," with taste ranging from Neil Young's solos on the "Dead Man" soundtrack, through War's rhythms on "Life is a Ghetto," to modern electronic bliss, "Brazilian Girls," or "LCD Soundsystem." This is in a high-ceiling, hardwood floor apartment living room. I don't need the amp to be able to knock the windows out.

Thanks in advance -

Silence of the spam Site Moderator Geoffcin's Avatar