AR Newbie Registered Member

Looking for Preamp With AGC

I'm searching for low cost preamp products with AGC that will limit the high volume portions and boost the low volume portions on the TV and DVD inputs to my audio system. My wife and I are 65+ and our hearing can no longer adapt as well as the hearing of younger folks. I'm an electronics engineer, so don't shy away from technical terms.

Forum Regular
    Seems like that would best be accomplished with a receiver. My Yamaha RX-V663 has automatic Dynamic Range Control that, when active, compresses dynamic range at low volumes, and allows it more room to breath when you turn the volume up. You can also keep that off and just set the overall Dynamic range to MIN/STD/MAX. I'm sure other brands have similar features, but I haven't shopped for a new receiver for a while.
    Tim Evans
    East Street Audio
    Onix, Melody, & ACA

Quote Originally Posted by jdeegerman
    I'm searching for low cost preamp products with AGC that will limit the high volume portions and boost the low volume portions on the TV and DVD inputs to my audio system. My wife and I are 65+ and our hearing can no longer adapt as well as the hearing of younger folks. I'm an electronics engineer, so don't shy away from technical terms.
    Hello, " j ", and welcome to AR forums.

What you are looking for is a dynamic range compression device -- there are many of these available, (though not all are necessarily adaptable to your needs). A some AV receivers have built-in compression (a.k.a. dynamic range control).