AR Newbie Registered Member

Does more power mean better sound?

I am new on the forum this being my first post. I am also new at the sound game as you probably can tell by my question. Here it is: I have a Rotel system with their entre level amp and preamp, a RC 1070 and a RB 1050. The speakers are Klipsch bookshelf, 75's. The system is in a small den, about 10x10. I have wondered if I increased the size of my amp would I improve the overall sound of the system? I like what I now have but feel that it lacks a fullness, a feeling of presence, that I would like to acheive. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Jack

Forum Regular

If you want better sound...

...your money would be better spent on better speakers. As has been explained here and elsewhere, more watts just gives you a little more of what you already have. If the first watt sounds bad, the next 50 or 100 or 200 will likely sound bad too. I have heard low-powered amps that I loved the sound of, and high-powered ones which I did not. Mind you, I have heard super amps that sounded good, notably the huge monoblocks, built by Crown, which had been converted to audio duty after lives as CT-Scanner amps. Their distortion was so low, it was measured in parts per million (PPM)!

But I digress. Speakers have such a greater amount of distortion, being the mechanical devices they are, compared to the electronics, there is just a greater payoff in sound, dollar-for-dollar. If you don't believe me, just listen to some really, really good speakers, or some really, really good headphones.

Laz