Forum Regular

Question Integrated Amp, How many Watts do I need?

I dont know a whole lot about Audio when it comes to the in's and out's but I am thinking of going with a Integrated Amp, if this is what I need, in place of a Reciver, being I rarely listen to the Radio and I have a old Kenwwod Tunner in the closet if I need.
    If my Main speakers where 8 Ohm 250 watt max , how many Watts per chanel should be my min in order to achive enough volume that not run me out of my room but a decent level.
    I may be looking at it the wrong way, I see amps that rate 30 wpc and that dosnt seem to be enough to get the volume up some, but I have never used a integrated amp before, always a A/V reciver which at the moment is a Sony STR-DE715 I think is a 100 wpc and it doesnt realy crank the 150 watt mains that I have now, ( old pair of low lv Teac).
    What I want to do is a CD, Amp and a set of mains and Sub and secound set of book shelfs later, for music only.
    looking to spend about $1000. for both amp and cd, any sugestions on what to look at or should I go another way?
    Speakers I am looking at are the Paradgms Studio 60's, which I like alot, and the Axiom Mti 60's, which I am going to go listen to next week.
    Thanks