• 01-20-2004, 01:05 PM
    which dvd player for max 1200$
    Hello guys I am new in this audio waters and I would like to ask you if you could recommend me which dvd to buy.
    I have bought a Marantz av surround receiver model SR 7300 and Jamo 5.1 surround speakers. I am thinking about spending max 1200 $ on a DVD player so if you could say which :confused: Marantz DVD model would be the most apropriate for the above system. If you have a better idea of a marantz player say it, because I am open for new things.
    Thank you for your time :D
  • 01-20-2004, 11:40 PM
    F1
    $1200 for a DVD player??? To me that's waaay too expensive. I pair my SR 7300 with Panasonic RP82 and I'm happy with it. I paired with other budget DVD players from JVC, Toshiba and Pioneer and the results were good. Imo, any $200 DVD player in the market will give you very decent performance.
  • 01-21-2004, 03:33 PM
    poneal
    F1 is exactly right. Nowadays DVD players can be gotten for under $100. Maybe your talking about DVD-A/SACD players. Those units from higher end dealers are around the price your talking about.
  • 01-23-2004, 03:45 PM
    Waxxiemann
    Check out Rotel.

If I were to reccomend a DVD player I'd just say go all the way with a universal player from Marantz. The DV 8300 or 8400 are sweet :rolleyes:

Try and kill 2 birds with one stone and get a player that plays SACD and DVD audio. If you go this route, make sure to look for a player with deccent bass managment.

Onkyo and Denon both have nice new universal players as well.

Hope this helps :confused:
  • 01-25-2004, 09:11 PM
    PmR
    Panasonic is supposed to be producing a new line with Faroudja de-interlacers in the next month or so. The top end single-disc player will also play DVD-A. These are in essence updates to the very successful RP82/XP30/XP50 line. MSRP is supposed to be $299 and many have speculated a take-home price in the mid-200s.
  • 01-25-2004, 09:59 PM
    Norm Strong