Forum Regular

2-Channel Stereo Sound System

Hey guys,
    New to the forum, I'm new to the whole tube amp/2-channel amp field.

The reason I am looking into this is because I have some budget 5.1 sound system with those little tiny 'cute' speakers that sound like ****.

My dad, however, has a Sansui AU-517, that in comparison (with any speakers I've heard it from) blows my 5.1 system away.

Now, I am looking to buy my own 2-channel (tube or non-tube whatever you suggest) integrated (i believe this is what I'm looking for) amp.

Also, I am looking for some speakers to use. I am not by any means ubsessed with audio quality, I just want good solid tone (highs and lows) neither overpowering.

---

As of now I am extremely low on cash so I want to keep this in the price range of the following I picked out.

Speakers - (once i get more money I'd make it 4x)
    2x : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16882290013
    or
    2x : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16882184291

Amp -
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Sansui-Integrate...item4a9c51781e

Thanks for any help pointing me in the right direction!

Welcome to the AR forum, Kyle. It looks like you're already pointed in the right direction. At these price points, what you've chosen looks hard to beat. There are certainly some other speaker options you could look at...there are as many opinions on speakers around here as there are members...but that price on the Polk speakers is really low.

Chicago IL
    I can't tell anything about the speakers but the amplifier is a killer! It is rated 65W per channel but it sounds for 10 times more! You are on the right way for the amp! Get it!

Forum Regular
    Thanks for the replies.

What would you recommend for speakers?

I'd like to know what brands (or custom) speakers are best around the $100 mark.

Also what is a good place for used speakers? Craigslist, Ebay, what else?

Thanks very much!

Chicago IL