Thread: Crown Xti-1000

Forum Regular

Crown Xti-1000

Hi, I'm new to this form and had my old Phase Linear 400 series 2 power amp die last week. I was using it in my home stereo hooked up to my faithful Crown ic-150 Pre-amp. I was wondering if a Crown XTI1000 would be a good amp to replace my Phase with? I noticed it does not have RCA jacks in the back, where do I get adapters to hook my ic-150 pre-amp up which has RCA outs. Is this a high fidelity amp, and would it compare to my 200 watts per channel Phase. I would like to buy Crown based on the reliability of my Crown pre-amp.

A couple of thoughts

Quote Originally Posted by tony3d
    Hi, I'm new to this form and had my old Phase Linear 400 series 2 power amp die last week. I was using it in my home stereo hooked up to my faithful Crown ic-150 Pre-amp. I was wondering if a Crown XTI1000 would be a good amp to replace my Phase with? I noticed it does not have RCA jacks in the back, where do I get adapters to hook my ic-150 pre-amp up which has RCA outs. Is this a high fidelity amp, and would it compare to my 200 watts per channel Phase. I would like to buy Crown based on the reliability of my Crown pre-amp.
    I used a Phase Linear 400, (1st series), for many years. It was a faithfull friend and never did quit, but believe me, there are better sounding amps out there today.

The XTi series Crown amps are likely a nice amp, though I have not personal experience with them. I notice that they have DSP (digital signal process), and unless you have a particular need for that, I would suggest avoiding it. Personally I would look at the XLS 202 or 402; but much better still -- for more money -- a K1.

Be aware that the units have fans with the exception of the K series; this means some noise that you might not be used to. The XLR connectors should be no problme: get some "hybid" RCA to XLR male interconnects at Markertech ...
    http://www.markertek.com/index.asp

Forum Regular
    Quote Originally Posted by Feanor