AR Newbie Registered Member

Buying Advice Tube Amps

I am new to the world of high end audio. I just made my first visit to a New York store yesterday and left with a few questions that some readers of this site maybe able to help with. I am looking to up grade my current system. Nothing worth mentioning here 10 year plus Nakamichi and Sony products, My current speakers are Polk Audio Monitor 70s. I am happy with them and would look to keep them. My questions are: Tube vs SS and Integrated vs seperate. I was shown Rogue Audio Tempest and Cronus integrated Amps, Cambridge solid state I think it was a 740a. The tube amp sound seemed fuller and more robust. One product that was not shown to me was a Peachtree Integrated Amp that includes a tube pre amp as well as a DAC. Has any one had experience with this product? Is it trying to do too much in one box? My budget for AMP/ Pre Amp or Integrated and a new turntable is $3,000 or so. Thanks for reading and I look forward to the advice and or recomendations.

I would consider going with a tube preamp and a solid state amp but the Peachtree looks very interesting. You could probably do better with separates but for an all in one unit it looks like a great deal.

Here's a review on the Peachtree which is very favorable-

http://www.avguide.com/review/playba...ted-ampusb-dac
    Pass Labs X250 amp, BAT Vk-51se Preamp,
    Thorens TD-145 TT, Bellari phono preamp, Nagaoka MP-200 Cartridge
    Magnepan QR1.6 speakers
    Luxman DA-06 DAC
    Van Alstine Ultra Plus Hybrid Tube DAC
    Dual Martin Logan Original Dynamo Subs
    Parasound A21 amp
    Vintage Luxman T-110 tuner
    Magnepan MMG's, Grant Fidelity DAC-11, Class D CDA254 amp
    Monitor Audio S1 speakers, PSB B6 speakers
    Vintage Technic's Integrated amp
    Music Hall 25.2 CDP
    Adcom GFR 700 AVR
    Cables- Cardas, Silnote, BJC
    Velodyne CHT 8 sub

Forum Regular