AR Newbie Registered Member

Budget reccomendations for NAD 7225PE

Hi,

I recently began reading about high(er) end audio, and and picked up a used NAD 7225PE receiver to replace the main unit of a 7 year old Sony mini-system, which had decent speakers considering they're from a mini-system. I'm wondering what sort of budget upgrades i could make to a this setup that i would receive noticeable improvement from. I currently have basic radio-shack interconnects, the stock pre-out/power-in jumpers and a 4 year old basic Technics 5-cd changer and an old Technics SL-b200 turntable with a pickering DLE cartridge.

My budget would be about $40-50 for a pair of interconnects, $130 for a CD-player, $60-80 for a cartridge, etc... (Used/Ebay is fine)

In what order should i perform upgrades? Would better jumpers make a difference? Would i need a better pre-amp to gain noticeable improvement from anything else? I listen mostly to classical on CD and classic rock on LP

I'm really quite new to this, and really wishing i had the cash to burn on the Krell KAV400xi and Martin Logan Ascent I speakers I listened to recently

Thanks,

Cody

For a CD player the Rotel RCD-855 or 955 are a good value right now in that price range (along with later models), used from ebay or audiogon of course.

You should also be using 12 or 14 awg speaker cable...go to home depot or lowes electrical department where they sell it by the foot. I am using home depot 12awg outdoor extension cable, it's good. Make each side the same length also, this is very important.

Radio shack interconnects are decent actually, but buy a short set for that jumper from pre-out to main in. They are garbage quality, I used to have a NAD integrated.

Most importantly play with speaker positioning, try speakers 5-8 ft apart and with no toe-in and same distance to rear wall. Center yourself 8-12 ft back and see what works.

Can a crooner get a gig? dean_martin's Avatar

I had a NAD 7225PE...