Accuphase E-303

Printable View

• 09-03-2007, 07:53 AM
    reynaldo
    Accuphase E-303
    Hi there everyone,
    I'm new to this very interesting site. I discovered it about a month ago when I was looking for info about speakers. I ended up buying a pair of B&W DM 303 basically based on reviews I read on this site. I am very I happy I bought them and I am very excited about beeng part of this community.

Now to the point. I've owned an Accuphase E-303 since 1982. Itīs only been to the repair shop once in 25 years and still sounds great. Recently I noticed that the sound comming from the left channel was not as loud as the other channel. I checked the balance control, speaker connections, volume knob and everything seemed to be normal. Iīve never used the tone controls on this great amp so I always kept the tone control in the defeat position. Having checked everything and the problem refusing to go away, I decided to turn on the tone controls by hitting the corresponding switch and voilá. Inmediately the sound came alive like I hadnīt heard in a while and both channels were perfectly balanced. The amp has been working with the tone controls turned on for about six months and I havenīt had any problems with the left channel. Any ideas as to what might be causing the problem?

I know I eventually I may have to take this heavy baby in for a check-up, but Iīd hate to be without it for three weeks.

Comments are welcome and regards to you all,
    thanks, Reynaldo
  • 09-03-2007, 10:38 AM
    Feanor
    Could be VERY minor
    Quote:

Originally Posted by reynaldo
    Hi there everyone,